WEAPONS What? Trucks and weapons don't go together?

Question about Gun training for miltary, police, or other wise

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2012, 12:09 PM
Custm2500's Rude Friend

Received 783 Likes on 649 Posts
Default Question about Gun training for miltary, police, or other wise

I was under the impression that when you received training whether it be military, police, security, self defense, and so on that you were taught to shoot to kill in life threatening situations. I have never received any formal training so I am curious.

So my question would be do they tech you to empty a clip if that's what it takes to stop a threat or do they tech you self control like 1 shot and to stop when you see that you have caused enough injury to stop a person???
Old 11-28-2012, 12:35 PM
TECH Addict

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

I'm a military cop. We are taught to continue to use the appropriate amount of force until the subject stops doing the action. So if they are hopped up on PCP or something and keep coming you have to do what you have to do.
Old 11-28-2012, 03:59 PM
Admin

Received 217 Likes on 173 Posts

Escalate your force level one above your attacker. If attacker has a knife use a gun, ROE varies also based on the location and situation. As Andy said, you stop the threat. Period.
Old 11-28-2012, 11:28 PM
Custm2500's Rude Friend

Makes since. What do they classify as the threat being stopped???

I realise every situation is going to be different and every Branch of military/ law enforcement is going to be different. Hell every state will have it own set of rules too.
Old 11-29-2012, 10:28 PM
TOWN CRIER

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts